Primary Source Education

yearoffreedom

It was common practice for official documents even at the county level to declare what year of independence the United States were in. This is the latest example I’ve ever seen, which also happens to coincide with the first month of the War of 1812.

Even though my fellowship at the Maryland State Archives is wrapping up I still feel the crunch of demands. On April 27, I served as a judge for the state-wide competition of National History Day and for the last several weeks I’ve revised and improved my documents in the classroom exercise.

Arranging a ride to History Day at the University of Maryland Baltimore County was problematic because only one colleague lives in Annapolis; he unfortunately was visiting his parents in Columbia the previous evening. I enlisted Auni Gelles, the Maryland Humanities Council coordinator, to find an alternative. Luckily she was previously contacted by a woman asking for a riding companion familiar with the area to act as navigator. After a few coordinating e-mails we met for the first time at 7 am day-of. She was even more a newcomer to Maryland than I and we had an instant rapport. She moved to Maryland for her husband’s work and was seeking a job as an education administrator (a.k.a. “Dean”).

It would be inappropriate to describe the details of my responsibilities as a History Day judge since the competition is ongoing. Following the orientation and break-out into our designated group assignments, my three member team reviewed the morning run-offs in the Junior Papers category. The theme was “Turning Points” and the topics were as broad as the Europe’s greatest religious event to specific as a county commission. A fellow judge was John Olderman, who serves as the administrative aid (a.k.a. “Chief of Staff”) for Montgomery County Senator Richard Madaleno. Although he was a fairly quiet and measured young man, he possessed an unsmiling humorous wit and strong appreciation for local history. Senator Madaleno apparently shares this interest and facilitated the MSA research project into Brookeville. During the lunch break, John asked more about the MSA and I introduced him to my colleague Ryan; having worked there for several years he was a superb spokesman.

My task ended after lunch, the same as my ride, so we left at 12:30. As she dropped me off at my apartment building she asked for a copy of my resume to pass around.

Potential sources to be used in the exercise

Potential sources to be used in the exercise

My Documents in the Classroom project was a significant draw of my time these past couple weeks. Although most of the work was completed several months ago, it required re-working in order to meet the expectations of my supervisors and any potential teachers. The current documents in the classroom materials on the LOSIM Website utilize external links and non-native primary sources like the 14th Amendment. In preparation for the Progressive Education Summit in January I conceived a primary source exercise. Based on case studies which are composed almost exclusively of native materials, rather than concepts or events, the exercise could engage individual students, small groups, and classes. By viewing combinations of over a dozen different records they could recreate a case study on the LOSIM Website or just a few to follow a theme related to slavery.

Since most of the records are written in script and even give me a hard time, it was necessary to transcribe records. This took quite a long time because even though I was familiar with the records I now had to read every word regardless of how important it seemed. Census or slave assessment records were a simple matter of creating a table on a Word document to represent the form and layout. Other records, like the last will and testament of the biographical subject’s father, required thorough examination.

Documents are described by their corresponding footnotes in the original case study

Documents are described by their corresponding footnotes in the original case study

Eventually I paired these transcripts with new scans, images on the MSA server, and others downloaded from Ancestry.com. The only image I did not transcribe was an 1850 census slave schedule because the cursive was contemporary looking and intuitive. Although transcription was time consuming, creating the documents key was more difficult. Essentially a teacher’s guide, it outlines what a document is in the Summary, how they document relates to others in the case study (Relationships), and what the meaning of the document is to records that precede it in the biographical narrative (Discussion).

My work pleased supervisors Chris and Emily. They suggested I include teaching standards information and create an HTML Webpage that links to each record and transcript. I’m currently awaiting my colleague Ryan Cox’ input on the former and have gone as far as I can with the latter. I used KompoZer and cribbed the HTML and CSS from a documents in the classroom Webpage I use in my LOSIM work. Emily said my work could be considered a “Documents in the classroom 3.0” effort, which was more or less why I did it. I think there is a great value for this ready-made primary source exercise. Once the teaching standards are in place it would only take a teacher an hour to become familiar with this exercise and use it effectively—far less time than it would be to develop a lesson plan on their own.

The HTML draft of the online exercise

The HTML draft of the online exercise

2 thoughts on “Primary Source Education

  1. Pingback: Annapolis Maryland <> Primary Source Education

  2. Pingback: Primary Source Education | Maryland Online

Leave a comment